You can upload and store company documents in Eddy. You can read more about adding and organizing company documents in our help center. This article's focus is on how to delete a document you have already added to Eddy.
Archive or Delete?
Eddy offers two options for removing documents from your list of all company documents. You can archive a document to remove it from your list. After a file has been archived it can be permanently deleted.
Archive a document
You can archive documents that you no longer need visible, but you may want to keep for reporting.
Archiving a document will move it into an “archive” space within Documents. This will NOT delete the document or any signed copies of this document. These remain on the employee profile. Please note that:
- You cannot request signatures for archived documents
- If you have pending signature requests, these will continue to work even if this document is archived.
- Archived documents will be removed from any folders they are in.
After you click the "Archive" icon (), Eddy shows additional information to help explain what happens with archived files.
Where to view archived documents
To view archived documents, click the "Archived documents" link found on the left side of the page. When you click an archived file to view it, it will appear similar to unarchived files, but it will display an "ARCHIVED" tag.
Delete an archived file
To permanently delete a file, the file must first be archived. This helps ensure that files are not accidentally deleted. After the file is archived, open the file (from the archive) and click the delete icon ().
The delete action is permanent and cannot be undone. The following information will be deleted:
- The document and its ability to be signed
- The document’s history of who has signed, not signed, and not been requested to sign.
Note: Deleting this document does NOT delete any signed copies of this document. These remain on the employee profile or candidate profile.
After you click the delete icon, Eddy asks you to confirm your plan to delete the file.