Eddy allows you to terminate employees who no longer work for you organization. Eddy’s termination feature ensures that previous employees cannot access information within the system once they’ve left the company, while preserving employee data and documents for your company administrators.
HOW TO TERMINATE AN EMPLOYEE
In order to terminate an employee, you will navigate to an employee’s profile. Once you’ve landed on the profile of the employee you wish to terminate, click on the three-dot menu found on the right side of the white navigation bar. Clicking on the three-dot menu will reveal a callout with an option to “Terminate employee.”
By clicking on the “Terminate employee” option, a modal will appear. This modal describes what happens when an employee is terminated. The modal brings to your attention that terminated employees are no longer with the company and therefore will have their login credentials disabled. Additionally, terminated employees will no longer appear in your employee directory, unless you use the “Terminated” filter to find them. Terminated employees will only be visible to company administrators with HR Admin permissions.
Clicking the “Continue with termination” button will present you with a new modal. This modal will allow you to define information regarding the employee’s termination. You’ll be able to define the date of termination, whether the termination is voluntary or involuntary, the primary reason for termination, whether the employee is eligible for re-hire, and be given the opportunity to make any additional comments.
Be aware that choosing an effective date equivalent of today’s date, or by choosing a date in the past, the employee’s termination will be carried out immediately. By selecting a future date, the employee’s termination will be defined as “pending”, and will not take place until the date and time you specify in the modal.
When you’ve filled out the termination form you can click the red “Yes, terminated this employee” button found at the bottom of the modal.
STATES OF TERMINATION
If the termination date is today’s date or a past date, the employee’s termination will be effective immediately. If the termination is for a future date, the employee’s termination will be in a pending stage until that future date and time you specified in the modal.
Below is a screenshot of an employee whose termination is “pending.” This blue banner only appears to the admin users who view this employee’s profile, it does not appear to the employee themselves. The banner has two options: “Edit termination details” and “Cancel termination.” Clicking the “Edit termination details” button re-opens the modal that you previously filled out, and allows you to modify some of the information. Clicking the “Cancel termination” option will cancel this pending termination, and the employee will not be terminated at the previously specified date.
You can cancel an employee’s termination up until the effective date. Once the effective date of termination arrives, the employee will be displayed as terminated. Terminated employee’s will appear with a red “TERMINATED” tag next to their name in their employee profile. Additionally, the blue banner will display that the employee was terminated on their effective date. If you left additional comments, the first two lines of the comment will also appear in the blue banner.
When a termination is set (whether that be a pending termination or a termination that be a termination that is effective immediately) a note is added to the employee’s “Notes” tab that acts as a record of the termination event.
To view the note, simply click on the “Notes” tab in the navigation.
The note will appear in the column with your other notes in reverse-chronological order. This note is titled “Termination” and will record all the details of the termination event that you initially specified. If you wish to edit some of the termination details, you can do so by clicking on the edit pencil icon found on the top right of the note. However, if the termination date has already passed, you will not be able to edit that date.
FINDING TERMINATED EMPLOYEES IN THE DIRECTORY
Once an employee has been terminated, they will no longer appear in the employee directory for anyone that doesn’t have HR Admin permissions. For those who do have HR Admin permissions, you’ll be able to find your terminated employees under the “Employee status” dropdown. The dropdown is set to “Active” by default. To access your terminated employees, click into the dropdown and select the “Terminated” option.
Clicking on “Terminated” will display all the employees in your company who have been given the termination label. These employees will appear with a red “TERMINATION” tag on their profile card. Admins can still access these employee’s profiles by clicking into them. We will preserve all documents and information associated with these terminated employees.
CONSEQUENCES OF TERMINATION
When an employee is terminated, we want to make you aware that the following consequences are a result of that termination:
- The terminated employee can no longer login to Eddy
- The terminated employee cannot access any information or documents within Eddy
- The employees who previously reported to the terminated employee will now report to the terminated employee’s manager
- The terminated employee will no longer receive stage action email messages
- The terminated employee will no longer receive any communication or notifications from Eddy or the company
- The terminated employee’s profile will not be viewable to anyone in the company who does not have HR Admin permissions
- Any comments or ratings left by the terminated employee in the applicant tracking system will continue persist